Accepting a HashMap with any hasher as a function param

I'm extremely new to Rust and I'm trying to build a first crate! I am writing a function that takes a HashMap as its argument. I have it working, but Clippy is barking at me saying that I should be mindful of callers that may want to provide a different build hasher. I can't seem to find the best way to do this. I was able to get the warning to go away by just mandating that RandomState must be the third parameter:

pub fn load(env_vars: &HashMap<&str, Option<&str>, RandomState>) -> ... { }

This works and there's no warning. It's good that it's no longer implicit, but this didn't really solve any problem besides making the limitation explicit.

I imagine this would be a wonderful opportunity to learn from the Clippy docs, but they are severely lacking in providing breadcrumbs on how one would resolve this issue.
I tried doing some reading about BuildHasherDefault, although I admittedly had some trouble making the connection. I naively tried this:

pub fn load<H>(env_vars: &HashMap<&str, Option<&str>, BuildHasherDefault<H>>) -> ... { }

Although this is valid, the calling code no longer works and I think I ran into a dead end on this line. I was hoping to have RandomState be the "default" if possible and allow it to be overridden, but those may touch on concepts I have not learned yet.

I think you should just be able to do this:

pub fn load<H>(env_vars: &HashMap<&str, Option<&str>, H>)
1 Like
use std::collections::HashMap;
use std::hash::BuildHasher;

pub fn load<H: BuildHasher>(env_vars: &HashMap<&str, Option<&str>, H>) {
    env_vars.get("i");
}

fn main() {
    load(&HashMap::new())
}

playground

1 Like

OK now I feel stupid. That seemed too easy and it seems to have worked so far. I have been working with scripting languages for far too long and maybe forgot how simple generics can be used.

So this is working because HashMap knows what a generic in position 3 must satisfy?