About unwrap(), non-std Result and closures

It looks like unwrap() is very frowned upon in the Rust community. As a Rust newbie my problem is that sometimes I have a hard time trying to understand how to avoid it and write code in a more idiomatic way.

Just an example from a test code I'm working on:

pub struct RcdDir {
    curr: PathBuf,
}

impl fmt::Display for RcdDir { 
    fn fmt(&self, f: &mut fmt::Formatter<'_>) -> fmt::Result {
        writeln!(f, "{}", self.curr.canonicalize().unwrap().to_str().unwrap())?;
    }
}

I can see that using the two unwraps() is ugly but what's the idiomatic way to write this silly code?

Should I use the family unwrap_or() / unwrap_or_else() or something entirely different?

On the same topic another related piece of code that made me question the usage of unwrap() was Vec::sort_by(), how can I avoid using unwrap() & company in the closure passed down to sort_by()? Should I just unwrap everything before the closure?

Typically, you would avoid the unwrap by doing these kinds of conversions in code that can properly handle/propagate the errors. In your example, you're storing a PathButh, but canonicalizing it before printing... but why? Why wouldn't you canonicalize it when you build RcdDir? Or when you modify PathBuf? Do the canonicalization earlier, in code that can report the error, and then you don't have to unwrap in the display impl.

Now that isn't universally good advice, because it really depends on what you're unwrapping and why. But for the most part, that's the idea: do things that can fail as early as possible. Don't do canonicalization in a display function. Separate your concerns.

EDIT: