A "while loop" and ownership of input paramers passed?

Hello everyone,

I am new to Rust and this is a beginner question about ownership and passing parameters inside a loop to a function.

I have a while loop that calls a function.
Function requires a struct as input, not a reference to struct, but the actual struct.
I did not write the library so I can not change the function interface to use a &reference.
The function is part of the library I am using - AWS SDK rusoto.

I want to call the function inside a loop such as while loop.

pseudo-code:

while (condition) {
var = function( mystruct );
}

Rust compiler complains about mystruct ownership since its called inside the loop so it is "swallowed up" by the function call, if I understand ownership correctly.

Question: what is the recommended way of dealing with this pattern, given the function does not request a &reference to a struct but the actual struct object as a parameter.

I worked around this issue by creating a new instance of mystruct just before the call so if the function is called 10,000 times then the mystruct object will be created (and destroyed) 10,000 times. This seems like a performance hit plus more code required as I have to create new struct inside the loop.

Here is work-around pseudo-code:

while (condition) {
mystruct = new();
var = function( mystruct );
}

Is this the recommended way ?
Is there a Rust idiomatic way of dealing with the parameters passed to functions inside a loop ?

many thanks

If your function requires ownership of the object, you will have to create a new one for every call. If you can, try changing the function take a reference instead of a value, which would not take ownership of it.

1 Like

It very much depends on your case. Probably the best way is to define function in way so it borrows argument instead of taking ownership, but if it requires copying whole argument, then its better to do it outside of function call - for eg function(mystruct.clone()).

2 Likes