A weird error lifetime problem with closure

Hi guys:

I'm a newbie, and this is probably the hardest code I have ever written. But it has a bug in it :rofl:

fn main() {
    let v = vec![Json::True, Json::Obj(vec![])];
    let mut tree = Dag::new(&v);

let e = Editor::new(&mut tree);
    let t = (e.tree.node)('t');
    println!("{:?}", t.unwrap());
}

trait Ast<'a>: Sized {
    fn node_function() -> Box<dyn Fn(char) -> Option<Self> + 'a>;
}

struct Dag<'a, Node: Ast<'a>> {
    x: &'a Vec<Node>,
    node: Box<dyn Fn(char) -> Option<Node> + 'a>,
}

impl<'a, Node: Ast<'a>> Dag<'a, Node> {
    fn new(x: &'a Vec<Node>) -> Self {
        Dag {
            x,
            node: Node::node_function(),
        }
    }
}

#[derive(Debug)]
enum Json<'a> {
    True,
    False,
    Obj(Vec<&'a Json<'a>>),
}

impl<'a> Ast<'a> for Json<'a> {
    fn node_function() -> Box<dyn Fn(char) -> Option<Self> + 'a> {
        Box::new(move |x| match x {
            't' => Some(Json::True),
            'f' => Some(Json::False),
            _ => None,
        })
    }
}

struct Editor<'a, Node: Ast<'a>> {
    tree: &'a mut Dag<'a, Node>,
}

impl<'a, Node: Ast<'a> + 'a> Editor<'a, Node> {
    fn new(tree: &'a mut Dag<'a, Node>) -> Editor<'a, Node> {
        Editor { tree }
    }
}

Playground

I'm working on this code, the general idea is: I want Struct Dag to store a closure, and for different data type, closure will be different.

The problem happens when I mutable borrow Dag. Compiler doesn't provide much useful information.

If you change Dag, Json, and Editor to own their fields instead of borrowing them (which is always a good default: as @kornel says, putting references in structs is an advanced Rust technique), and make all the downstream changes necessary to accomodate that, your code compiles: playground.

2 Likes