A question about my first crate

Hello,

While I've been an Android dev for some time, I'm been keeping an eye on Rust and am really impressed with the community and how far the language has evolved. :slight_smile:

I wanted to practice creating my own crate and putting it into crates.io, so I created a super-simple project here: https://github.com/Digipom/decibel

This is a straight port of similar utility code I have in my Android app:

public static double amplitudeToDbfs(double amplitude) {
		return Math.log10(amplitude) * 20.0;
	}

public static double dbfsToAmplitude(double dbfs) {
		return Math.pow(10, dbfs / 20.0);
	}

This is what I ended up with in Rust:

pub struct AmplitudeRatio<T: Copy>(pub T);
pub struct DecibelRatio<T: Copy>(pub T);

impl From<DecibelRatio<f32>> for AmplitudeRatio<f32> {
    #[inline]
    fn from(decibels: DecibelRatio<f32>) -> AmplitudeRatio<f32> {
        AmplitudeRatio(f32::powf(10.0, decibels.decibel_value() / 20.0))
    }
}

impl From<AmplitudeRatio<f32>> for DecibelRatio<f32> {
    #[inline]
    fn from(amplitude: AmplitudeRatio<f32>) -> DecibelRatio<f32> {
        DecibelRatio(f32::log10(amplitude.amplitude_value()) * 20.0)
    }
}

impl<T: Copy> AmplitudeRatio<T> {
    #[inline]
    pub fn amplitude_value(&self) -> T {
        self.0
    }
}

impl<T: Copy> DecibelRatio<T> {
    #[inline]
    pub fn decibel_value(&self) -> T {
        self.0
    }
}

This is somewhat longer than the Java version, as I wanted to take advantage of Rust's "newtypes" to add some safety in situations where I'd use a decibel when I meant to use an amplitude, or vice-versa. Using the newtypes makes this more explicit.

Ideally this could be made more generic but right now I don't see a way to do it without hardcoding the types, as Rust doesn't support duck typing and I didn't see a "powf" or "log10" trait so I'd have to create my own.